Join Us

and our 1000+ members.

Star Ratings

Star Ratings are an internationally recognised rating for quality accommodation standards.

A Star Rating is determined by a comprehensive assessment of over 200 criteria across three areas: quality and condition, facilities and services, and cleanliness.

There are six distinct categories of Star Ratings for different types of accommodation: hotels, motels, serviced apartments, hosted accommodation, caravan & holiday parks, and self-catered accommodation.

Properties can be awarded up to five stars and must undergo regular site visits to ensure they are up to standard. Only licensed operators can display the trademarked Star Ratings, ensuring guests can expect a consistent quality standard when booking accommodation.

Why should my accommodation be Star Rated?

  • Use and display the official Star Rating brandmarks, only available to licensed operators
  • Show guests that your property is high-quality, reliable, and meets national standards
  • Maintain your property to standards according to best industry practices

How do I become Star Rated?

To become Star Rated, your business must first complete the Quality Tourism Accredited Business program. This program is free for all TiCSA members.

A pre-assessment questionnaire is to be completed, indicating how the property meets the Star Rating criteria.

This is then confirmed with a comprehensive site visit from TiCSA to verify that the property meets all criteria required for their rating. These visits are conducted every three years to ensure the property continues to meet standards.

Star Rating accreditation is available for $200 (excl GST) per annum for Quality Tourism Accredited Businesses that provide accommodation.

The Star Ratings program forms part of the Quality Tourism Framework (QTF). The QTF is a business pathway to support the continuous growth and development of Australian tourism businesses.